Go to content

Main menu:

Music Talks > 2016 Winter/Spring

Music Club: Wednesday 13 January 2016 (7 - 8:30 pm)


Title: Violin Concerto in D major Op 61
Composer: Beethoven
Performers: Sergey Khachatryan with the Orchestre de Paris conducted by Andris Nelsons
Facilitator: Akram Najjar

Sergey Khachatryan (Violin)
Born in 1985 in Yerevan, Armenia, the Armenian violinist, Sergey Khachatryan, won in  December 2000 First Prize in the VIII International Jean Sibelius  competition in Helsinki, becoming the youngest ever winner in the  history of the competition. In 2005 he claimed the First Prize at the  Queen Elizabeth Competition in Brussels.

Note that Sergey Kachatryan played Brahms's Violin Concerto in Beiteddine (summer 2014).

Sergey Khachatryan has performed with all the major UK orchestras, including the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, BBC Philharmonic and regularly with the Philharmonia Orchestra. In July 2005 Sergey made his debut at the BBC Proms with the BBC Philharmonic performing the first Dmitri Shostakovich  violin concerto. Sergey’s international profile initially developed  through collaborations with orchestras such as the Philharmonic  Orchestra, NHK Symphony in Tokyo, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Orchestre National de France and Kurt Masur and Frankfurt Radiosinfonieorchster with Daniel Harding.  In August 2005 he made his debut at the Ravinia and Blossom festivals,  and in March 2006 with the Baltimore Symphony orchestra before  undertaking a major USA concert tour with the London Philharmonic Orchestra,  including venues in Boston, Washington, San Francisco, Los Angeles and  New Jersey. In summer 2006 Sergey made his New York debut performing the  L.v. Beethoven concerto at the Mostly Mozart festival.

Violin Concerto in D Major Op 61
This concerto is so much part of every music library and found in the repertoire of most violinsts that it has suffered a little of the disease of "over familiarity". It is so easily recognized that we do not stop to wonder why it is so innovative as a violin concerto. It comes from Beethoven's middle period. Here are the works just before and after it: what neighbors!!

Op 56 - Triple Concerto in C
Op 57 - Appassionata
Op 58 - Piano Concerto No 4
Op 59 - The Razumovsky Quartets (to be featured in Karaz w Laimoon later on in the spring)
Op 60 - Symphony No 4
Op 61 - The Violin Concerto
Op 62 - Coriolan Overture
Op 67 - Symphony No 5
Op 68 - Symphony No 6
OP 69 - Cello Sonata No 3 in A major

These were composed between 1804 - 1808 - - - a busy period for Beethoven.

Back to content | Back to main menu